Wage Garnishment Laws By State

by


The wage garnishment provisions under Title III of the Consumer Credit Protection Act (CCPA) protects employees from discharge by their employers because their wages have been garnished for any one debt, and it limits the amount of an employee's earnings that may be garnished in any one week. If a state wage garnishment law differs from Title III, the employer must observe the law resulting in the smaller garnishment, or prohibiting the discharge of an employee because his or her earnings have been subject to garnishment for more than one debt.


Note: All states allow wage garnishment for child support, alimony, taxes and federal student loans.

Alabama: 75% of wages are exempt from garnishment
Alabama Department of Labor contact number: (334) 242-3072

Alaska: 75% of employee's weekly net income or $402.50 is exempt, whichever is greater
Alaska Department of Labor and Workforce Development contact number: (907) 465-2700

Arizona: Federal garnishment rules and exemptions are used.
Arizona Industrial Commission contact number: (602) 542-4515

Arkansas: Exemption is $500 head of family; $200 if single. Since federal law offers a better exemption, it applies.
Arkansas Department of Labor contact number: (501) 682-4500

California: Federal garnishment rules and exemptions are used.
Calfornia Labor and Workforce Development Agency contact number: (916) 263-1811

Colorado: Federal garnishment rules and exemptions are used.
Colorado Department of Labor and Employment contact number: (888) 390-7936

Connecticut: 25% may be garnished of disposable earnings each week, or 40 times federal minimum hourly wage, whichever is less.
Connecticut Department of Labor contact number: (860) 263-6000

Delaware: Exemption is 85% of disposable earnings or disposable earnings minus $127.50 weekly according to schedule. Bank accounts cannot be garnished.
Delaware Labor Department contact number: (302) 451-3423

District Of Columbia: Federal garnishment rules and exemptions are used. D.C. Government employees are not attachable.
District Of Columbia Employment Services Department contact number: (202) 671-1900

Florida: See federal law except 100% head of household.; Liberal Homestead Exemption; First $1,000 of automobile
Florida Agency For Workforce Innovation contact number: (800) 342-3450

Georgia: Federal garnishment rules and exemptions are used.
Georgia Department Of Labor contact number: (404) 656-3011

Guam Labor Department contact number: (671) 475-7043

Hawaii: 95% of first $100; 90% of second $100; 80% net wages in excess of $200 per month or federal limits, whichever is greater.
Hawaii Department Of Labor and Industrial Relations contact number: (808) 586-8842

Idaho: Federal garnishment rules and exemptions are used.
Idaho Department Of Labor contact numbers: (208) 332-3579 or (800) 843-3193

Illinois: Maximum of 15% of the disposable earnings or the amount of the disposable earnings that exceed 45 times the federal minimum hourly wage, whichever is greater.
Illinois Department Of Labor contact number: (312) 793-2800

Indiana: The maximum subject to garnishment in Indiana is the lesser of 25% of the disposable earnings or the amount of the disposable earnings that exceed 30 times the federal minimum hourly wage.
Indiana Department Of Labor contact number: (317) 232-2655

Iowa: Federal garnishment rules and exemptions are used.
Iowa Workforce Development contact number: (515) 242-5870

Kansas: The maximum garnishment is the lesser of 25% of the disposable earnings or the amount of the disposable earnings that exceed 30 times the federal minimum hourly wage or the amount of plaintiff's claim stated in the order for garnishment.
Note: No creditor can issue more than one garnishment against the same debtor during any 30-day period.
Kansas Department Of Labor contact number: (785) 296-5000

Kentucky: 25% of disposble income or 30 times the federal minimum hourly wage, whichever is less
Kentucky Department Of Labor contact number: (502) 564-3070

Louisiana: 75% disposable earnigns per work week, but not less than 30 times federal minimum hourly wage
Louisiana Department Of Labor contact number: (225) 342-3111

Maine: 25% of disposable income or 40 times the federal mininum wages per week, whichever is less
Maine Department Of Labor contact number: (207) 623-7900

Maryland: Greater of 75% of amount to $145 time number of weeks in which wages due were earned, except in Caroline, Worchester, Kent and Queen Anne's Counties, see federal law. Exemption is up to $3,000 in cash and/or property
Maryland Department Of Labor And Industry contact number: (410) 767-2357

Massachusetts: $l25 weekly
Massachusetts Department Of Labor And Work Force Development contact number: (617) 626-7100

Michigan: Federal garnishment rules and exemptions are used.
Michigan Department Of Labor And Economic Growth contact number: (517) 335-0400

Minnesota: The maximum that can be garnished per pay period may not exceed the lesser of 25% of the disposable earnings, or the amount of the disposable earnings that exceed 40 times the federal minimum hourly wage.
Minnesota Department Of Labor And Industry contact number: (651) 284-5070

Mississippi: Federal garnishment rules and exemptions are used.
Mississippi Department Of Employment Security contact number: (601) 321-6000

Missouri: Wage garnishment exempt is 90% of week.s net pay for head of household and a single person witout dependents is 75%
Missouri Labor And Industrial Relations contact number: (573) 751-7500

Montana: Federal garnishment rules and exemptions are used.
Montana Department Of Labor And Industry contact number: (406) 444-9091

Nebraska: Greater of 75% of disposable earnings, 85% if head of household, or 30 times federal minimum hourly wage.
Nebraska Department Of Labor contact number: (402) 471-9000

Nevada: Wages can be garnished no more than 25% of disposable earnings for each week or 30 times federal minimum hourly wage, whichever is less, except for support orders. Nevada Department Of Business And Industry contact number: (702) 486-2650

New Hampshire: 50 times federal minimum hourly wage. All future wages are exempt so the court cannot issue an ongoing order.
New Hampshire Department Of Labor contact number: (603) 271-3176

New Jersey: 10% gross, 25% of disposal earnings, whichever is less, but no execution on gross wages of $154.50 or less a week
New Jersey Department Of Labor contact number: (609) 777-3200

New Mexico: Continuing wage garnishments apply. Can withhold up to 25% of disposable earnings from each paycheck beginning on service of the writ and continuing until the judgment is paid in full. If previous garnishments are in effect when the writ is served, the earlier writ(s) must be satisfied before withholding begins on the later writ. Up to 50% of disposable wages is subject to a garnishment for child support, making subsequent garnishments for debts ineffective. Prejudgment garnishment of wages is not allowed.
New Mexico Department Of Labor contact number: (505) 841-8450

New York: The maximum amount of garnishment is ten percent 10% of gross income, or the federal maximum, whichever is less. If the debtor is subject to garnishment for alimony, support or maintenance, the combined garnishments cannot exceed twenty-five percent 25% of disposable earnings.
New York Department Of Labor contact number: (518) 457-5519

North Carolina: Garnishment in only allowed by political subdivisions for taxes, ambulance fees, and child support.
North Carolina Department Of Labor contact number: (919) 733-7166

North Dakota: The maximum of disposable earnings for a week is the lesser of 25% of the disposable earnings, or the amount of the disposable earnings that exceeds 40 times the federal minimum hourly wage. The maximum amount subject to garnishment will be reduced by $20.00 for each dependent family member residing with the defendant.
North Dakota Department Of Labor contact number: (701) 328-2660

Ohio: Federal garnishment rules and exemptions are used.
Ohio Department Of Commerce contact number: (614) 644-2239

Oklahoma: 75% of earnings is exempt and more if hardship is established. All federal exemptions apply.
Oklahoma Department Of Labor contact number: 405) 528-1500

Oregon: Exemption is 75% of disposable earnings or 40 times the federal minimum hourly wage.
Oregon Bureau Of Labor And Industries contact number: (971) 673-0761

Pennsylvania: Wages can olnly be garnished for taxes and child support.
Pennsylvania Department Of Labor And Industry contact number: (717) 787-5279

Puerto Rico: Federal garnishment rules and exemptions are used.
Puerto Rico Department Of Labor And Human Resources contact number: (787) 754-2100

Rhode Island: Federal garnishment rules and exemptions are used.
Rhode Island Department Of Labor And Training contact number: (401) 462-8000

South Carolina: Garnishment not allowed
South Carolina Department Of Labor, Licensing And Regulations contact number: (803) 896-4300

South Dakota: 20% of disposable earnings, but only for a 60-day period and can be renewed regulary
South Dakota Department Of Labor contact number: (605) 773-3682

Tennessee: Federal garnishment rules and exemptions are used, $2.50 per week more exempted for dependent child under 16.
Tennessee Department Of Labor And Workforce Development contact number: (615) 741-2257

Texas: Wages cannot be attached or garnished, except for child support. Income that is not a wage can be garnished. Bank accounts, rents and royalties can be garnished. Exemptions include social security benefits.
Texas Texas Workforce Commission contact number: (512) 475-2670

Utah: $142.50 of disposable earnings for wages paid weekly
Utah Labor Commission contact number: (801) 530-6800

Vermont: 75% of debtor's wages are exempt from attachment except for a consumer debt and then 85% of the debtor's wages are exempt.
Vermont Department Of Labor contact number: (802) 828-4000

Virginia: Federal garnishment rules and exemptions are used.
Virginia Department Of Labor And Industry contact number: (804) 371-2327

Virgin Islands: Garnishment is subject to ten percent or so much of gross wages as exceeds $30 due or to become due to judgment debtor from employer-garnishee for any weekly pay period, or its equivalent for any pay period of different duration. The above percentage limitation does not apply in case of execution of judgment, order or decree of any court for payment of any sum for support or maintenance of a person's spouse, former spouse, or children, and such execution, judgment, order or decree will, in the discretion of the court, have priority over any other levy against judgment debtor's wages.

In case of execution upon judgment, order or decree for payment of such sum for support of maintenance, limitation will be fifty percent of gross wages due or to become due to any person per pay period or periods ending in any calendar month.
Virgin Island Department Of Labor contact number: (340) 776-3700 St. Thomas, (340) 692-9689 St. Croix

Washington: It is limited to greater of 25% of disposable earnings or thirty times the federal minimum wage.
Washington Department Of Labor And Industries contact number: (360) 902-4200

West Virginia: 20% of disposable income or 30 times the minimum hourly rate, whichever is less. Other exemptions apply.
West Virginia Division Of Labor contact number: (304) 558-7890

Wisconsin: 80% of net pay is exempt
Wisconsin Department Of Workforce Development contact number: (608) 266-6861

Wyoming: Up to 65% is exempt for child support arrearage. Federal garnishment rules and exemptions are used for other. Wyoming Department Of Employment contact number: (307) 777-7261

For the most current laws on wage and bank account garnishment, contact the state agency by phone using the numbers above.

Read more on Wage Garnishment Laws

Common Bank Account Seizure And Wage Garnishment Questions

Although all information has been written in good faith and reviewed, please email us at help@consumerbadcreditguide.com to report any inaccuracies.