Below are the civil and criminal penalties for writing a bad check in Connecticut under Code Sec. 53a-128 - Issuing a bad check, Penalties, and Section 52-565a.
Civil Penalties: If the issuer failed to make good on the dishonored check within eight days after receiving notice of such refusal then he/she can face civil penalties that can add up to the face amount of the check, plus face damages up to the amount of the check or $450.00, whichever is less. If a bad check was passed on a closed account,then he/she could be subject to a penalty equal to the amount of the check or $750.00, whichever is less.
Criminal Penalties: Issuing a bad check is a class D felony if the amount of the check was more than one thousand dollars, a class A misdemeanor if the amount of the check was more than five hundred dollars but not more than one thousand dollars, a class B misdemeanor if the amount of the check was more than two hundred fifty dollars but not more than five hundred dollars, or a class C misdemeanor if the amount of the check was two hundred fifty dollars or less.
For more information on bad check laws and for criminal and civil penalties in other states for writing bad checks, please read Bad Check Laws
Check with your state statutes for the most current information on Connecticut bad check laws. More information can also be found at the Connecticut Department of Banking located at ( http://www.ct.gov/dob/cwp/view.asp?a=2235&q=297900 ).
You may want to also read Getting A Checking Account While On The Chex System
Learn how to Prevent Overdraft And Bounced Check Fees
Although all information has been written in good faith and has been reviewed, please email us at [email protected] to report any inaccuracies.